Welcome from the Dean

Welcome to School of Software, Tsinghua University!

Established as a pilot project in the higher education reformation of China in 2001, School of Software is celebrating its 17th anniversary in 2018.

Our school is to meet the vast talent demands in the ever-changing software industry by encouraging high standard software research as well as providing effective formal software engineering education in China. The school’s education philosophy is to foster top quality talents in an integrated environment of education, research, practice and social services. 

The first discipline is Software Engineering, which consists of two sub-areas: Software System Engineering and Data Science Engineering. Today, we have four research institutes in THSS, including the Institute of Software Systems Engineering, the Institute of Information Systems Engineering, the Institute of Computer Graphics and Computer-Aided Design and the Institute of Trustworthy Networks and Systems, that support teaching and research endeavors of the above mentioned areas.

Join us and explore the excitement of developing leading edge software engineering technology and application systems that changing the world and the society!




Jianmin WANG

Deputy Deans:

Bin WANG (General Management)

Hui ZHANG (Education & Management)

Guiguang DING (Research & Laboratories)

Secretary of School Committee of Communist Party:


Deputy Secretary of School Committee of Communist Party:

Chaokun WANG

School of Software Mission Statement

The mission of School of Software manifests its itself in the areas of education, research, and service:

  • To provide a broadly based and high-quality software education that prepares future leaders in industry, academia, and government with a strong sense of digital economy development, through a  rigorous curriculum of theory and applications that develops students' abilities to solve problems individually and in teams;

  • To conduct cutting-edge theoretical and applied research that advances the state of the software professio and improves the engineering principles and practices;

  • To contribute expertise and service to the profession, society, and government for solving important information technology problems, and promoting transformational development of China.

Successive Leaders

Binglin GU, THSS Dean, 2001 to 2003

Juhao GUO, THSS Secretary of CCP, 2002 to 2003

Jiaguang SUN, THSS Dean, 2003 to 2013

Yunhao LIU, THSS Dean, 2013 to 2017

Jianmin WANG, THSS Secretary of CCP, 2003 to 2017; THSS Dean, 2017 to present

Bin WANG, THSS Secretary of CCP, 2017 to present